Stats & Records

List of Australian Open Women’s Singles Winners

Austarlian open is first grand slam tennis tournament of the year and held annually in Melbourne Australia every year since 1922. In the Australia Open Women’s Category to be introduce way back in 1922 and competition won by Margaret Molesworth. Caroline Wozniacki defeated Simona Halep in the final with score 7–6, 3–6, 6–4 to win the Women’s Singles tennis title at the 2018 Australian Open.

In Most Recently Naomi Osaka defeated Petra Kvitová 7–6, 5–7, 6–4 in the final to win the Women’s Singles tennis title at the 2019 Australian Open.

Check out below the complete list of Australian Women’s Singles Winners from 1922-2020.

Australian Open Women’s Singles Winners

YearWinnerRunners-upScore Line
2019 Naomi Osaka Petra Kvitová 7–6, 5–7, 6–4
2018 Caroline Wozniacki Simona Halep 7–6, 3–6, 6–4
2017Serena Williams (USA)Venus Williams (USA)6-4, 6-4
2016Angelique Kerber (GER)Serena Williams (USA)6-4, 3-6, 6-4
2015Serena Williams (USA)Maria Sharapova (RUS)6-3, 7-6 (7-5 Tiebrake)
2014Li Na (CHN)Dominika Cibulkova7-6 (7-3 Tiebrake), 6-0
2013Victoria Azarenka (BLR)LI Na (CHN)4-6, 6-4, 6-3
2012Victoria Azarenka (BLR)Maria Sharapova (RUS)6-3, 6-0
2011Kim Clijsters (BEL)LI Na (CHN)3-6, 6-3, 6-3
2010Serena Williams (USA)Justin Henin (BEL)6-4, 3-6, 6-2
2009Serena Williams (USA)Dinara Safina (RUS)6-0, 6-3
2008Maria Sharapova (RUS)Ana Ivanovic (SRB)7-5, 6-3
2007Serena Williams (USA)Maria Sharapova (RUS)6-1, 6-2
2006Amelle Mauresmo (RUS)Justine Henin (BEL)6-1, 2-0 (Henin Retired)
2005Serena Williams (USA)Lindsay Davenport (USA)2-6, 6-3, 6-0
2004Justine Henin (BEL)Kim Clijsters (BEL)6-3, 4-6, 6-3
2003Serena Williams (USA)Venus Williams (USA)7-6 (7-4 Tiebrake), 3-6, 6-4
2002Jennifer Capriati (USA)Martina Hingis (SUI)4-6, 7-6 (9-7 Tiebrake), 6-2
2001Jennifer Capriati (USA)Martina Hingis (SUI)6-4, 6-3
2000Lindsay Davenport (USA)Martina Hingis (SUI)6-1, 7-5
1999Martina Hingis (SUI)Amelle Mauresmo (RUS)6-2, 6-3
1998Martina Hingis (SUI)Conichita Martinez (ESP)6-3, 6-3
1997Martina Hingis (SUI)Mary Pierce (FRA)6-2, 6-2
1996Monica Seles (USA)Anke Huber (GER)6-4, 6-1
1995Mary Pierce (FRA)Arantxa Sanchez Vicario (ESP)6-3, 6-2
1994Steffi Graf (GER)Arantxa Sanchez Vicario (ESP)6-0, 6-2
1993Monica Seles (USA)Steffi Graf (GER)4-6, 6-3, 6-2
1992Monica Seles (USA)Mary Joe Fernandez (USA)6-2, 6-3
1991Monica Seles (USA)Jana Novotan (TCH)5-7, 6-3, 6-1
1990Steffi Graf (GER)Mary Joe Fernandez (USA)6-3, 6-4
1989Steffi Graf (GER)Helena Sukova (TCH)6-4, 6-4
1988Steffi Graf (GER)Chris Evert (USA)6-1, 7-6 (7-3 Tiebrake)
1987Hana Mandilkova (TCH)Martina Navratilova (USA)7-5 , 7-6 (7-1 Tiebrake)
1985Martina Navratilova (USA)Chris Evert (USA)6-2, 4-6, 6-2
1984Chris Evert (USA)Helena Sukova (TCH)6-7 (4-7 Tiebrake), 6-1, 6-3
1983Martina Navratilova (USA)Kathy Jordan (USA)6-2, 7-6 (7-5 Tiebrake)
1982Chris Evert (USA)Martina Navratilova (USA)6-3, 2-6, 6-3
1981Martina Navratilova (USA)Chris Evert (USA)6-7 (7-4 Tiebrake), 6-4, 7-5
1980Hana Mandilkova (TCH)Wendy Turnbull (AUS)6-0, 7-5
1979Barbara Jordan (USA)Sharon Walsh (USA)6-3, 6-3
1978Chris O’Neil (AUS)Betsy Nagelsen (USA)6-3, 7-6 (7-3 Tiebrake)
1977Evonne Goolagong (AUS)Helen Gourlay (AUS)6-3, 6-0
1977Kerry Melville Reid (AUS)Dianne Fromholtz (AUS)7-5, 6-2
1976Evonne Goolagong (AUS)Renata Tomanova (TCH)6-2,6-2
1975Evonne Goolagong (AUS)Martina Navratilova (TCH)6-3, 6-2
1974Evonne Goolagong (AUS)Chris Evert (USA)7-6(7-5 Tiebrake), 4-6, 6-0
1973Margaret Court (AUS)Evonne Goolagong (AUS)6-4, 7-5
1972Virginia Wade (GBR)Evonne Goolagong (AUS)6-4, 6-4
1971Margaret Court (AUS)Evonne Goolagong (AUS)2-6, 7-6 (7-0 Tiebrake), 7-5
1970Margaret Court (AUS)Kerry Melville (AUS)6-1, 6-3
1969Margaret Court (AUS)Billie Jean King (USA)6-4, 6-1
1968Bill Jean King (USA)Margaret Court (AUS)6-1, 6-2
1967Nancy Richey (USA)Lesley Turner Boerey (AUS)6-1, 6-4
1966Margaret Court (AUS)Nancy Richey (USA)Walkover
1965Margaret Court (AUS)Maria Bueno (BRA)5-7, 6-4, 5-2, Bueno retired
1964Margaret Court (AUS)Lesley Turner Boerey (AUS)6-3, 6-2
1963Margaret Court (AUS)Jan Lehane (AUS)6-2, 6-2
1962Margaret Court (AUS)Jan Lehane (AUS)6-0, 6-2
1961Margaret Court (AUS)Jan Lehane (AUS)6-1, 6-4
1960Margaret Court (AUS)Jan Lehane (AUS)7-5, 6-2
1959Mary Carter Reitano (AUS)Renee Schuurman (ZAF)6-2, 6-3
1958Angela Mortimer (GBR)Lorraine Coghlan (AUS)6-3, 6-4
1957Shirley Fry (USA)Althea Gibson (USA)6-3, 6-4
1956Mary Carter Reitano (AUS)Thelma Coyne Long (AUS)3-6, 6-2, 9-7,
1955Beryl Penrose Collier (AUS)Thelma Coyne Long (AUS)6-4, 6-3
1954Thelma Coyne Long (AUS)Jenny Staley (AUS)6-3, 6-4
1953Maureen Connolly (USA)Julia Sampson (USA)6-3, 6-2
1952Thelma Coyne Long (AUS)Helen Angwin (AUS)6-2, 6-3
1951Nancy Wynne Bolton (AUS)Thelma Coyne Long (AUS)6-1, 7-5
1950Louis Brough (USA)Doris Hart (USA)6-4, 3-6, 6-4
1949Doris Hart (USA)Nancy Wynne Bolton (AUS)6-3, 6-4
1948Nancy Wynne Bolton (AUS)Marie Toomey (AUS)6-3, 6-1
1947Nancy Wynne Bolton (AUS)Nell Hall Hopman (AUS)6-3, 6-2
1946Nancy Wynne Bolton (AUS)Joyce Fitch (AUS)6-4, 6-4
1940Nancy Wynne Bolton (AUS)Thelma Coyne Long (AUS)5-7, 6-4, 6-0
1939Dorothy Cheney (USA)Neil Hall Hopman (USA)6-1, 6-2
1938Emily Hood Westacott (AUS)Dorothy Stevenson (AUS)6-3, 6-2
1937Nancy Wynne Bolton (AUS)Emily Hood Westacott (AUS)6-3, 5-7, 6-4
1936Joan Hartigan (AUS)Nancy Wynne Bolton (AUS)6-4, 6-4
1935Dorothy Round (GBR)Nancy Lyle Glover (AUS)1-6, 6-1, 6-3
1934Joan Hartigan (AUS)Margaret Molesworth (AUS)10-8, 2-6, 7-5
1933Joan Hartigan (AUS)Coral Buttsworth (AUS)6-1, 5-7, 6-2
1932Coral Buttsworth (AUS)Margaret Molesworth (AUS)7-5, 6-2
1931Coral Buttsworth (AUS)Majorie Cox Crawford (AUS)5-7, 6-1, 6-2
1930Daphne Akhurst (AUS)Sylvia Lance Harper (AUS)6-1, 6-2
1929Daphne Akhurst (AUS)Louie Bickerton (AUS)1-6, 8-6, 6-4
1928Daphne Akhurst (AUS)Esna Boyd (AUS)7-5, 6-2
1927Esna Boyd Robertson (AUS)Sylvia Lance Harper (AUS)6-3 , 4-6, 6-4
1926Daphne Akhurst (AUS)Esna Boyd (AUS)6-1, 6-4
1925Daphne Akhurst (AUS)Esna Boyd (AUS)6-2, 6-1
1924Sylvia Lance Harper (AUS)Esna Boyd (AUS)6-3, 10-8
1923Margaret Molesworth (AUSEsna Boyd (AUS)6-1, 7-5
1922Margaret Molesworth (AUSEsna Boyd (AUS)6-3, 3-6, 8-6

Australian Open Records

Most Australian Open Titles: Margaret Court (7 Titles)

Most Titles in Open Era: Serena Williams (7 Titles)

Most Consecutive Australian Open Titles: Margaret Court (7 titles)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *